Multi-User Project – “The Love Slide”

December 7, 2010 § Leave a comment

Yes! It is what it sounds like but more on that later. Lets start with a little explanation on Robin, which is actually a Flash and PHP multiuser server system. Robin lets you code and create multi-user games and chat rooms.

This project was a quick one, but definitely an interesting one because I got to learn and play with multi-user technology and most importantly I got to customize it.

Concept

So the concept is a funny one, well depends on how you look at it. The term is about to come to an end and we are all very tired. So I decided to humor myself a little. So the name of the program is “The Love Slide,” it is what it sounds like. It is actually based on an old rock song, written about sex. I decided to look for some tribal symbols, mostly tattoos actually, one, which represents a penis (the arrow head one) and the other, which represents a vagina (the red one). Each user controls one of them. Once, you get those two symbols together, you see a bunch of sperm on screen. Please don’t hate me Dan! It is just an idea! : )

Design

The penis and vagina symbols, as well as the sperm were created in adobe Illustrator.

Troubleshooting

Boy did I have a hard time making ROBIN work! The key was to follow the steps exactly how you taught us to do but at times, you still sort of miss things but I’m glad I’ve been taking notes and it helped me get through some of the problems I was having. The other problem I was having was scaling the symbols. I wanted them to remain a specific size, when the users would move them around. The problem I was having was that they scaled way too large when the users brought them close to each other. I figured it out by simply importing the symbols to a size that I wanted and that helped the size remain consistent. The other problem, that pretty much, everyone of us was having was that sometimes one of objects would show up and the others wouldn’t on someone else’s computer, but, what we noticed is that it was more of a server issue and the symbols would come and go sometimes. Lets hope, when I show it to you tomorrow, it works perfectly!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Multi-User Project – “The Love Slide” at my IMM's blog.

meta

